35 0


Time is measured in isheju or iseju (minutes), wakati (hours), ojo (days), ose (weeks), oshu or osu (months) and odun (years). There are 60 isheju in 1 wakati; 24 wakati in 1 ojo; 7 ojo in 1 ose; 4 ose in 1 oshu and 52 ose in 1 odun. There are 12 oshu in 1 odun.[22]
Months in Yoruba calendar:     Months in Gregorian calendar[23]:
Sere     January
Erele     February
Erena     March
Igbe     April
Ebibi     May
Okudu     June
Agemo     July
Ogun     August
Owere (Owewe)     September
Owara (Owawa)     October
Belu     November
Ope     December
Yoruba calendar traditional days

The Yoruba calendar (Kojoda) year starts from 3 June to 2 June of the following year. According to this calendar, the Gregorian year 2008 A. D. is the 10050th year of Yoruba culture. To reconcile with the Gregorian calendar, Yoruba people also often measure time in seven days a week and four weeks a month:
Modified days in Yoruba calendar     Days in Gregorian calendar
Ojo-Aiku     Sunday
Ojo-Aje     Monday
Ojo-Ishegun     Tuesday
Ojo-‘Ru     Wednesday
Ojo-Bo     Thursday
Ojo-Eti     Friday
Ojo-Abameta     Saturday

READ MORE:  Oduduwa

Related Post


Posted by - October 21, 2011 0
Culture In the city-states and many of their neighbors, a reserved way of life remains, with the school of thought…


Posted by - October 21, 2011 0
Oduduwa Oral history of the Oyo-Yoruba recounts Odùduwà to be the Progenitor of the Yoruba and the reigning ancestor of…


Posted by - October 21, 2011 0
However, some Yoruba scholars, especially, the Muslim and Christian clerics object to this mythology. Among the objecting voices to the…


Posted by - October 21, 2011 0
Diversity Today, most contemporary Yoruba are Muslims and Christians. Islam found its way into the Yoruba kingdoms long before the…

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *